Some people believe that the best way to produce a happier society is to ensure that only small differences between the richest and the poorest members. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many people believe that a good way to improve social well-being is to decrease the gap between the rich and the poor. While I think the point of view holds a ground, I presume there are other factors might affect the balance amogst our social members as well.

On the one hand, a society which is in favor of the people in some comparative disadvantaged situations can help improve the happiness for all the members. If people were given the fair public educational opportunities, our society would benefit from a higher level of educated workforce in job market. Therefore, the intelligence and creativity of those workers cultivated and developed by the social fair educational resources’ allocation are the driven force for national long-term development. When it comes to the public healthcare system, for example, the more people can be absorbed and secured by an all-round social welfare, the better sanitary performance could be achieved. In addition, each member of a society are more likely to behave positively and be happier.

On the other hand, even though the measures made inclining to the poor is playing a vital role to overall pleasure, the willingness of pursuit happiness can’t not be treated as irrelevant. Firstly, no matter how much encouragement being given and resources being invested, there is no doubt what truly trigger the motivation is derived from one’s longing for a better quality of life. It would be merely a huge waste of our precious resources if a person had no desire to do his utmost to achieve his potential. By contrast, the great deal of accomplishments could be completed by excellent productive social members with maximizing the same social public support. Hence, the talent and the diligent deserve to be prioritized to make more contributions to our societies.

In conclusion, although it is true that more happiness would be provided to our society, if the disadvantaged could be lifted up from the poverty, I believe that the effort made personally also count.