Some people believe computers will take the teacher’s role, therefore, teachers will be replaced by computers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Computers have contributed to various aspects of our society, teaching in particular, they are even believed to replace teachers in the classroom. Although it is undeniable that computers have a big impact on teaching methods, I would argue that teacher’s role is the main key to the student’s success.

To begin with, teaching with the help of a computer maintains learner’s attention and offers them with a variety of learning styles. It is not exaggerate to mention that computers have been installed to enhance the lessons and keep student’s interests. With a wide range of teaching and learning applications, theories are becoming more attractive, therefore, learners are more engaging with the lessons. What is more, the online courses offer individuals to study at distance, which is especially suitable for remote places or low income families as these courses are accessible and cheaper. Topica, for example, a well-known education website, provides a multitude of courses for different age groups with a reasonable tuition fee.

On the other hand, the teacher’s presence at class is vital because teaching is not only about knowledge but about making students well-rounded; that is what computers cannot do. Firstly, teachers are well trained to understand their learners’ nature, and are likely to cope with different personalities and deal with the class with mix level of studying. As the result, computers long to adapt these matters because they have no feelings. Secondly, teacher’s hands-on experience is the real asset to students as they can learn from them, which is necessary for their future careers. Moreover, some teachers can inspire their students with their successful life, and become role models for them to look up to.

To sum up, it is irrefutable that computers play an integral part of teaching for a number of reasons; however, I have no doubt that they are unable to completely take the teaching job from the teachers.