Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think
that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion
Many people consider that innate characteristics are responsible for the fact that some people
choose to turn to a career of crime. However, I would argue that crime is a consequence of
social issues and poverty.
There is a belief that a person’s nature determines whether or not they become a criminal.
Firstly, they argue that an individual who is cruel turns to crime more easily than a kind person.
For instance, a child bullying other boys or girls at school may turn into a violent criminal in the
future. Secondly, bad characteristics such as laziness or selfishness could also breed future
offenders, who seek to acquire easy money without working for it. A number of youngsters
choose to steal from others, instead of working hard to make an honest living. These are strong
reasons for thinking that those who have an inborn bad nature are more likely to break the law.
Nevertheless, it seems to me that social issues and poverty are the main causes behind crime.
There are many problems in society which might lead to an increase in the crime rate. For
example, unemployment pushes people intoresorting to crime because they simply cannot find a
job. As a consequence, the number of offenders has climbed in many countries over recent
decades. Another reason is that, more broadly, poverty in general leads to a rise in crime. If
people do not have enough money to make ends meet, they will be tempted to pursue illegal
activities just to support themselves and their families.
In conclusion, while a number of people think that a person's nature is the primary cause of
crimes, I would argue that they are the results of social issues and poverty.