Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a controversy that whether spending money on building train and subway lines or on building more and wide roads is the best way to diminish traffic congestion. Although each point of views has its convincing evidences, I strongly believe that the former is the best solution.

In the one hand, there are several ideas that why some people support to widening and opening more roads. Firstly, many roads in the cities are too small and under bad conditions. To bear up the rapid expansion of citizens, these roads need to repair or/and expand to the both sides; these actions will enable dwellers to move more easily, and reduce the traffic jam rates. Secondly, building up new road or even just repairing degraded roads would be the easiest solution to stop traffic congestion. In fact, in many countries, due to the limitation of the investment cost on the infrastructure, they have a little chance to think about new transport system like sky train or sub train. Therefore, the reinforcement of roads and investment new roads should be the best choice in this situation.

However, if the authorities and governments think carefully about their situation and their future, they might choose to execute sky trains or sub trains instead of carrying on aforementioned solutions. By doing these new transports, the current roads will be diminished by the sharing movement demand. In this case, people have more choice to select the kind of transports they will go. For example, to go to office, employees could go by train or bus if these stations are nearby their home. In addition, these new transport systems do not touch too much to the existing infrastructure; then all expenditures will be paid directly to new system, and the effectiveness of the investment will be higher.

In conclusion, investing to build new road and to expand road has some results, but I always support to executing new transportation as overall solution.