Some people believe that it is better to keep criminals in prison for longer, while others disagree and say that we must find a different solution. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, it has been noticed that crime rate has abruptly increased in every country . In general, some people believe that to stop crime it is vital to keep criminals in prison for longer time. On the same time, some think that this is not the only solution .there should be some other methods to deal them. This essay will elaborate both concepts with my opinion at the end.

On the one hand, some people think that offenders should get punishment for longer time . They believe that it is a good way of treating them. They give two reasons in favor of this argument. firstly, they think that this will be a good example for other people in the society. So that no one else will do the same crime. secondly, they think that when criminals do not get longer punishment they try to repeat the same crime and become more confident . Usually they get more experiences from other offenders. So it is very important that they should get long prisons . This will help remarkably reducing crime ratio in a society.

On the other hand, some people suggest that there should be some other ways to address this issue. They insist their views with some reasons too. Firstly, most of the criminals are usually first time criminals. So they should be given second chance. it is good to penalize them for shorter time and then should be released with some warnings. It is better to observe them for some time. Secondly, prisons could be a training institute for these new offenders. This will create more anger and rage in them. It would be nice if they have some rehabilitation in their short punishment time. This way these effected people can be a good asset of society.

In my opinion, both views have solid points. But I think it is more beneficial for society that prisoners should get shorter punishment. We can make them useful part of community by educating and improving their skills. This will give us a nice and productive society and will help in development of country.