Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree?

Freedom of choice is an important aspect of humanity, it sets us apart from animals. There is a widely held perception among some that, in this age, humans are faced with excessive choices. I believe that people are now confronted with more as they lead their daily lives.

To begin, in the past, there was an inmate selection of gender; humans were either males or females. Now, it is no longer a decision made exclusively by genetics, people now have the privilege of deciding what sex they want to belong to. For example, some ladies in the UK, as reported by the Punch newspaper, decided to aquire masculine features such as penis and testicles. They did this in a bid to identify with the male sex. Also, some individuals prefer to refer to themselves as either gay or lesbian, these are novel words employed to describe new gender choices.

Another aspect of human culture where a variety of choices are being made nowadays is marriage. Decades ago, it was unheard of that a man marries another man. Freedom of choice has also evolved to this part of life. Several examples abound; there are wedding ceremonies being held between men, even cases of matrimony between humans and objects such as pillows. These are scenarios there were perceived as absurd some years ago, however, due to civilization, we now have the ability to choose what or who to marry.

In conclusion, choices are now available in things that were hitherto thought to be congenitally or socially predetermined, like sex and marriage partners. Certainly, the range of choices now at our disposal has become expansive.