Some people believe that the salaries paid to professional sportspeople are too high, while others argue that sports salaries are fair. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With a growing awareness of maintaining health, sports, in this day and age, have gradually become indispensable parts of daily life. There is some debate about whether such outrageously high salaries for sportspeople are justified or not. While I accept their deserve for such high incomes to some extent, I strongly hold that other important occupations should be offered higher salaries.

On the one hand, high salaries for sportsmen is relatively regarded as compensation for their sacrifice and devotion. This means that people who reach the highest levels in any sport must be uniquely talented and extremely hard- working. For example, it is rare to find someone with the football skills of Messi or Ronaldo, and it can be argued that these players deserve salaries that reflect their abilities. Moreover, in practice, even the most talented sports professionals must undergo many years of training to develop the skills and fitness required, and this takes great commitment, dedication, and passion. Admittedly, due to short career span and vulnerability to life-threatening injuries, athletes only have a few years to shine in their career.

On the other hand, it is unreasonable to pay other professions less because of their prosocial contribution. Sports professionals do not serve an essential service to the society whereas important professions such as doctors and teachers are absolutely vital for society. Teachers, for example, are responsible for educating and nurturing a new generation to become responsible citizens. Needless to say, that responsibility by itself is undeniably hard and demanding. Furthermore, the improvement of living standard all heavily depends on dedicated professionals who are making every effort on providing a better world for humans to live. Takes medical professionals as an illustration, patients suffer less from both curable and incurable diseases with the help of medical services. Hence, there is no doubt that those professional workers should be awarded a higher salary compared to athletes.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge the reasons for high incomes for sportsmen, I firmly believe that other professionals should be offered higher salaries for their critical and meaningful contribution.