Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions on whether schools ought to give any homework to children. Some argue against the necessity of homework as it puts too much pressure on the children but in my opinion, I believe it is necessary in children's education.

Many among us think that homework is unnecessary for several reasons. Firstly, parents often find that their children are exhausted after attending a full day school. They should have enough time to rest and relax, and to replenish and be ready for tomorrow's challenge. Secondly, studies have shown that sports and other activities are equally important to children's development. For example, doctors suggest daily exercising helps our brain, and makes us smarter. Therefore, people have argued that a child should not be burdened with additional work at home but should be allowed to choose what he wants to do after class. Finally, parents working full time disapprove the idea of homework because they often have to help their child in solving homework problems after work which is not very convenient from their perspective.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that homework is important in educating our children. For example, by teaching students to complete their assignment on schedule, they can develop a sense of responsibility and self discipline. In addition, some kinds of challenging questions in the homework can simulate children to think and become more intelligent. Another benefit is that homework provides a way for teachers to understand what kind of difficulties the students are having so that they can revise the syllabus and give extra lessons on such topics during their teaching.

In conclusion, homework certainly has, to some extent, its own drawbacks but I strongly believe that the benefits outweigh them in the long run.