Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishm

So, I think when deciding on punishment for crime, court should be circumstansec of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it. I think that the motives and circumstances of the commission of crimes are so diverse that they cannot be judged equally by patterns. At the same time, I do not mean flexible types of punishments, the punishment for the same type of crime can be the same, but the circumstances and motive of the crime must be taken into account when passing a sentence. For example, circumstances can be mitigating or, conversely, aggravating. A crime can be committed by negligence, or it can to be self-defense, also on the contrary, the crime can be intentional and for a certain purpose. When deciding the punishment, this is very important. So, job of courts very complicated, how competent a judge should be in order to determine punishments.

But judges no always decide. Still, had jury is a group.

A jury is a group of people who, during a trial, recognizes certain facts as established and makes a decision on the guilt of the defendant. Today, the jury trial is the most common in the United States: there are more than 120 thousand trials with its participation every year (almost 90% of all such trials in the world). In the United States, any civil or criminal case may be tried in a jury if the defendant or plaintiff so wishes. Moreover, according to a decision of the US Supreme Court in 1968, if the defendant faces imprisonment for more than six months, then the trial in a jury is the constitutional right of the accused.

One of the most scandal case: 1997, USA. The jury, who tried the case on charges of Iris Pine in the murder of her own husband, issued a verdict of "innocent", despite exhaustive evidence of her guilt. The jury, consisting mostly of women, considered that Mrs. Pine had no other way to free herself from the tyranny of her husband. Think, you would agree with this verdict? I agree, if it was the only chance to stay alive. And even this is one of the unique case when a woman could be justified.

Or other case (not real case, I saw this case in movie about lawyers) - lawyer without special law diploma (without law degree) is recognized as a lawyer? Note: prosecutor accuses him of fraud. Moreover, this lawyer successfully practices and protects the rights of people, he love law and knows the law better than lawyers! And the jury before the decision saw more than three cases of legal protection from grateful people. Would you blame a person who can and wants to protect people? You think? Note: jury issued a verdict of "innocent", with which I completely agree.

My opinion, actually in different crime's cases should be learn different sides and then decide of punishment, because our life full of different peoples, who had bad or good intentions. And we should very carefully analyze good intentions from bad.