Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

Schools are an important part of our life as they play a crucial role in developing our personalities and preparing us for us practical life. It is often argued that it should be made mandatory by schools to require its students to participate in some kind of community service. This essay agree with this point of view. First it will discuss how volunteering in different charitable programs can help student acquire good personalities traits and improve our mental health and then it will talk about how such an experience is beneficial for volunteers themselves in the long-term.

To begin with, indulging in community services can bring great social consequences. In fact, various research studies has shown that helping others and bringing positive changes in the society has phenomenal effects on our mental being. For example if student of a certain school volunteer each Saturday to distribute free food to the destitute and homeless people, then not only they will learn empathy and compassion for others, but it will also give them a sense of satisfaction being a contributing member of the society. Consequently, this will raise their self-esteem and give them reason to become please with their lives.

Moreover, involving in community service also help us to strengthen our profiles. Looking at the world nowadays which has become too competitive we have to stand out from other in order to secure any position we seek. Weather it is a college admission or a job application, having experience of community service besides academic or work experience enhances our chances of securing the opportunities offered. For instance, universities give great emphasis on extra-curricular actives along with students’ past educational performance in making admission decision and it is even common observation that many school give preference to student with good history of participation in community service over those who demonstrate good grades with little or none of such experience.

To summarize, it should be made requirement by schools to make its students participate in community services as this will not only make them adopt good personality characteristics and help them view their life in good way, but will also allow them to make great achievements in their future.