Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The number of people travelling different parts of the world to visit places increasing day by day. Some people says these people, who are travelling abroad for tourism should follow the local customs and behaviour of the host country, while others opine that host country should welcome all cultures wholeheartedly. This essay checks both sides of the argument before drawing a conclusion.

The people who have the former argument put forward some reasons to justify their stand. To begin with, some societies in the world are conservative in their beliefs and cultures. They do not like visitors disrespect their culture and rituals especially disrespect towards their religion. Blasphemy is considered as a severe offence in these parts of the world. For example, Saudi Arabia is a conservative Muslim country, which has severe punishments against blasphemy. Many travellers punished in this country in the past, who were unaware of the unique culture and religious laws this country has Thus, the travellers visiting countries like this should learn about the tradition and laws before they are travelling.

On the other hand, people who have the latter view support their argument with some genuine reasons. First and foremost, a host country should welcome all cultures around the world so that it could achieve economic growth by attracting more and more visitors to that country. Many countries all over the world taking advantage of tourism by liberal and secular laws for tourists. Dubai an Arabian country, which has most flexible rules in favour of tourists and the number of tourists to this country increasing every year is an example. Secondly, the international reputation of a tourist friendly country will be high, if they welcome different cultures. This host country national will get respect and love when they visit other countries.

To conclude, after assessing both sides, I too agree with the latter argument as it is helpful to achieve economic growth and international reputation for the host country.