Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While domestic wastes used to be not a matter of obsession, recently it has been a harsh problem for many nations across the globe. A proportion of people are of the opinion that a considerable amount of household wastes are not being appropriately recycled. Therefore, they believe that this might be the supervisory role of the governments to enact laws so as to monitor the process of packing homes wastes. Although forcing people to recycle their stuff might solve the problem to some extent, it seems wide variety of alternative methods, however, can be more effective.

Opponents of this scheme claim that legislating tough and strict laws has always been effective.

One theory that supporters put forward is that people not only obey all the regulations of gathering their wastes but they also encourage community to carry out all duties associated with recycling. In addition, people tend to be more respectful to laws these days than in the past.

Nevertheless, there might be couple of more and easy methods to persuade people to conduct the recycling process. One of the programs that can be taken into account is raising public awareness through media. Documentaries, movies and many TV shows as examples intended to inform residents of dire and degradable damages to natural ecosystems and human lives can readily awaken people towards considering the case.

Nowadays, there are more hazardous problems in our societies needed severe laws than recycling domestic wastes. It sounds that recycling household wastes is of more personal issue, and all the population must have a great sense of their community rather than being introduced a law for such matter.

To sum up, laws and mandatory regulations must be enacted more serious crimes, such as burglaries, terrorism and drug abuse. It seems the problem of recycling can be tackled via some laws. Still that should not be regarded as the mere solution.