Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are reasons for these behaviors? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

It is universal among humans to have the desire to possess expensive items. Some people who do not have any restraint when it comes to shopping often face serious economic / financial consequences. Such behaviour can be due to advertising propaganda and it can be prevented by proper counselling.

With the advancement in mass media technology, information about many products continues to reach the customers. After repeatedly watching a particular advertisement, people tend to purchase them even if they cannot afford them or do not have any immediate requirement. This became more rampant with the advent of online platforms for shopping, where many things can be bought even from the home. False pride is another factor that drives the compulsive urge to buy.

Those who compare their possessions with those of their wealthy neighbour tend to make unnecessary purchases. On the other hand self contained individuals utilizes their money judicuiously. As utilizing money for such activities can have devastating results on the entire family, effective measures are to be taken to prevent it. One such thing is having a reasonable budget plan. The source of income and expenditure should be caluculated on a timely basis. Expensive things should only be bought with the savings.

Without such a plan, the management of money can be difficult. Sometimes excessive spending can be due to psychological abnormality and requires counselling from the experts. The root cause of such behaviour can be identified and cured with proper treatment.

To conclude, the easy accessibility to various products coupled with greed can lead to thoughtless spending. This behaviour can be kept in check through proper financial planning.