Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Sentiments diverge on whether a foreign language is exclusive for traveling or working in multinational organizations. Although this stance can be justified to some extent, I am at loggerheads now that entertainment and killing time is also included in the benefits of learning languages.

Perceptibly, languages are multifunctional tools to communicate for travel and work. When it comes to traveling, residents must communicate with indigenous citizens in their local language, so becoming bilingual is critical for overseas tourists. Without language, a load of obstacles will ruin a trip, or even pose a threat to travelers’ life. A vivid example is that last year, I got sick while traveling to Maroc, with the shortage of knowledge, I could not find help from other local residents, luckily, I was alive due to the on-time treatment by doctors. Furthermore, in this flat world, the competitive labor market requires citizens to have side languages so as not to be astonished while applying for a job in multinational companies. Therefore, these two aforementioned pieces of evidence concrete the essential role of learning the language.

Conversely, I ascertain that the desire for entertainment and cultural exploration are potential reasons for people to acquire a new language. First, citizens can kill their time by watching a movie or listening to music that involves different types of language, so an abundance of knowledge is critical to wholly relish these artworks. Moreover, viewers can effortlessly understand the meaning of a film through hearing, not by looking at a subtitle, which can enhance their listening skills. Second, to learn about foreign customs and rituals, each individual has to look up information on several global websites, therefore, they have to learn separated languages in order to fully achieve the meaning of these cultures.

By way of conclusion, acquiring languages is not only exclusive for travel purposes or work, but it is also suitable for entertainment and ritual discoveries.