Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a widespread belief that individuals learn a foreign language with the aim of traveling around the globe or in order to work overseas. Whereas some people might say that there are other the root causes of learning language which in turn assist to develop some crucial abilities such as: cognitive development, memorizing and broaden the outlook of any person. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

There are multifarious reasons in favour of studying any foreign language. Travelling and working abroad are prime example of this, which might be a memorable pleasure and experience for travellers and work seekers. It is generally accepted that studying diversity of cultures and lifestyles in vibrant foreign countries is the best way to enhance horizons and gain essential knowledge out of countries by traveling. However, it is worth to take into account that these factors is highely likely to remain just cherished dreams without knowing language.

Likewise, working in abroad is able to unveil fresh prospectus in the domain of business for myriad job opportunities. By this, a great number of workers can introduce various domestic commodities into global market as well as expanding their business by exchanging crucial ideas and information with foreign business partners. Since, standard of living, cultural norms are differed from countries in which they are living, therefore, they can adapt their products into those countries readily enough. By knowing a language, they are able to implement these ideas easily. As a result, these employers will recruit the staff who have bilingual competency.

In addition, except for peaceful journeys and business, there are other aspects of learning foreign language that will implicate solely critical benefits. When any person study whatever language, it improves his/her cognitive abilities, that is to say that problem solving skills, critical thinking, reasoning any issues. Furthermore, these people can cope with mathematical concepts without severeness.

By way of a conclusion, acquiring of foreign language involves a great deal of advantages. It does not only provide with pleasant journeys and competitive progresses in the scope of career or business, but also valuable knowledge, growth in various abilities of any person.