Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The widespread university education has attracted massive concern for years in many regions and countries. When it comes to core study program, it is argued that whether students should choose their major based on interest or practical use. As a senior student at university, I believe that students should learn the subjects where they have strong passion.

It is obvious that useful subjects like science and technology play crucial roles in the development of society and higher quality of life as they can improve production efficiency in many sorts of industries. Also, the advanced medical technology offers people better health and longer lifespan. In addition, these subjects help to generate new green energy and reduce pollution, which contributes to a balanced ecosystem. Therefore, it is necessary to enroll massive professional students in these areas.

Majors such as science and technology are vital to the future of human beings, while it does not indicate that people should overlook other subjects, for instance, arts and humanities. There is no doubt that every field in society has its demand for professional staff. If students were only permitted to study a limit amount of subjects which are productive, there will be an enormous number of vacancies in the employment of other areas. Also, art and humanities which seem useless are equally important to society. Creative thinking is also a key in many jobs. Without the study in literature and art, less people will take jobs in cultural heritage and art creating, causing a negative impact in preserving the precious culture of one’s nation.

Personally, I believe that interest is the strongest motivation in one’s study. Students will be more likely to get tired of the lessons when they are forced to choose what they dislike. As a result, teaching resources and student’s time will be largely wasted both. This is certainly detrimental to personal prospect and university development.

In conclusion, to make sure that student can develop their own potential and to meet various need from employment in different walks, I am convinced that all of them should be entitled to free choices based on their preference.