Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People argue that undergraduates should be able to choose courses freely while others think students should only study the obliged subjects. Although compulsory courses play in vital role in students’ future career, I do think that undergraduates should have their right to choose what they want to study beside the obligation subjects.

Every program has their own curriculum scope which contains compulsory and elective courses. Obliged subjects are extremely important because they will provide students what they need in the specific field. They can be basic knowledge that students must know to be successful in the career they choose. The required courses, therefore, guide students to the right path and help them save time. For example, microeconomics and macroeconomics are the two core subjects that all economics student have to learn. The two courses will help students gain basic economic theories, some primary definitions, and models. Obligation subjects are essential and useful in helping students being lost in their programs.

Elective courses are the course that student can choose freely based on their favorites. An elective subject helps students expand their knowledge widely and supplements his main career. A student who studies English Literature would be interested in economics or tourism. They can choose the subject designed to other programs to expand their knowledge in other aspects. Moreover, when students are studying marketing and want to do digital marketing, they can choose some courses in information technology program to support their job they want to apply.

All above, undergraduates should accomplish the required course which designed for their major to help them gain enough basic and essential knowledge. In addition, they should be free to choose other elective subjects that would help them acquire skills in other field and supplement their future career.