Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology Discuss both these views a

Some folks believe that undergraduates of higher institutions ought to pursue their desired courses whereas others are of the notion that they should be limited to subjects of future relevance like modern technology and science. While it is good for a nation to prepare for the future, I believe it is also paramount to consider one's passion and choice as first place because it brings more productivity and self satisfaction.

One good reason why students should be given the freedom to choose their subjects is that it promotes creativity. Studies have shown that when an individual engages in activities they enjoy, it leads to discovery of their talents. They also work with ease and do not need to exert more time and energy in learning it. Thus, resulting in increased productivity. For instance, a talented seamstress' work is always more outstanding than someone who was forced to learn the work.

Another point to consider in letting scholars decide their course of choice is that it confers a sense of fulfillment. Similarly, skills combined with passion naturally becomes a way of life. In contrast, learning and working without interest becomes burdensome. For example, a waitress who loves to smile enthusiastically will always attract more customers.

Admittedly, enforcing students to embark on trending disciplines with the future in view helps to prepare the universe for tomorrow. The field of molecular biology and genetic engineering can create a biological weapon to safeguard the country for security purposes is new and needs more hands. If people are not there to fill these gaps, it may be disastrous. However, rather than mandating students, interested candidates should be given admission. Furthermore, the government should create awareness aimed at enlightening the populace about the importance of the much needed courses which will definitely make some to consider these areas instead of making it compulsory.

In conclusion, although it is important for professional to delve into much needed specialties, permitting everyone to consider their course of passion can not be overemphasized for any country who has the interest of her citizens at heart.