Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the university education represents a big role in the life of a young person. Some people believe that the students should have the opportunity to study whatever they like, but there are some other people that support the idea of students studying only subjects useful for the future. I’m strongly disagreeing with the second opinion and I will argue it the essay.

Firstly, it is nearly impossible to know what will be considered useful in the future because everything has a tendency of evolving, of changing. We can make some predicts now about the future but in the next minute a variable might be changed and the predicts are no good anymore. For example: some years ago, the industry of the metals was booming then we had some groundbreaking inventions (such as the computer or the Internet) that changed the need of the work market. Therefore, now the IT domain is the biggest player for the students who are looking for a university degree.

Secondly, forcing someone to study science or technology where he is inclined to the humanities is pure evil because the student it will never be comfortable in his classes, he will not be able to fallow all the courses or even understand it. For instance, I am an engineer and I am positive that in a literature class or in a history class I would be feeling like a fish out of water. Moreover, it is our birth right to be free to choose whatever you want to do in life and not be forced to do so.

To sum it up, I strongly believe that a students should be free to choose whatever programs they want to study because he might be inclined for something and he will excel at it and because the future is an incertitude.