Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that students should have genuine interest in the subject they study. Although many people believe that all undergraduate and graduate students need to have passion for the study they major in, few advises that only useful topics need to be taught at university level, special attention should be provided for science and technology related courses. According to my understandings, the later will cause problems related to unemployment and migration for a nation and so I will be disagreeing with the statement saying graduates need to study only useful subjects.

While there is a gaping need for doctors, engineers and leaders in developing countries like India, Bangladesh, Nepal and so on, not everyone needs to have similar profession for a country to become advanced in the world. Absence of good political leaders, teachers and businessmen is also not a good condition for economy of a nation. Besides, concentration on a certain sector will lead to unemployment issues. If most graduates turn to one particular sector, the employers will not be able to provide enough jobs for them. So, the unemployed ones might migrate to other countries as a result of the lack of jobs. Moreover, rest of the areas will consist of old people who are likely to retire as soon as possible due to the pressure of work. Furthermore, new and exciting technologies are being invented throughput the time. As a result, studying one subject that might be useful now, will not come in handy within next ten years. It should also be noted that none has similar interest and passion for a particular topic and forcing them to study something they do not understand or like may cause emotional stress and severe depression.

On the other hand, if youngsters are given freedom to choose what career they want to pursue, they are more likely work more diligently when they get a job and thus earning more money for the country. Apart from the economic balance, the state is less likely to face unemployment issues as well as migration conditions. Additionally, emotionally balanced citizens will be willing to carry out their responsibilities accordingly.

To conclude, although certain subjects are more highlighted in case of study or career, an overwhelming number of graduates from them are going to hurt a nation than do good. On the contrary, young scholar become responsible citizens if freedom is given to them regarding their own life.