Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that all university students should learn whatever they like, others think that they have to study either science or technology which would be useful in the future. In my opinion, the students should focus on what they like, rather than studying from someone’s wish.

On the one hand, this sort of studying would be beneficial, if the students had a keen interest on it. For instance, a passionate student seeks and likely finds more data, if he or she has an inclination for its achieving. A burning desire and a chance to commit something remarkable for the students would be an engine for the progress. However, some subjects at the university are not difficult to pass due to their easiness and the use of some material from high school. But, an opportunity of the students to learn what they prefer may have more advantages than disadvantages.

On the other hand, science and technology are one of the major factors, which influence determinate the future and the capabilities of the country on the international level. Learning of these particular fields should be the main targets as well as promotion of young scientists or inventors. Scientists should not spend their time on studying what they like, as it may be useless in matching with science or technology in advance. Studying new principles of combining the chemical elements, reading articles, or executing experiments would be better instead. Although, success is not guaranteed.

Studying of subjects that are not related to the student’s field at the university depends on their choices, but some believe that it should be mandatory for the students who study science or technology.