Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is understandable that university courses that focus on practical knowledge receive more attention from students and are more prestigious among the public than say studying gardening or physical fitness. However theses courses, that might be suffering a lack of students, can provide interesting information and are as capable of creating productive individuals.

In terms of what can learning a course give in return, many fields of science that we consider crucial today, were obsolete in the past because they were thought to be uninteresting and useless. No one was interested in biology for example until one of the few eccentric curious lot discovered the cell through his experiments opening a large door to discovering numerous facts that saved ourselves from disease and increased our lifespan.

Conversely, it is sometimes argued that many essential professions face labour shortages, therefore, focus must be put on preparing more students to become qualified so that these roles can be filled. Take healthcare for example, including nurses, doctors, surgeons...etc. The sector is suffering from increased demand but falling behind in the numbers of required staff to provide the service, consequently, creating waiting lists that reach several years in many cases.

However, one can contend that some people may later in their life enrol to a university for leisure. These will attend classes and do coursework not for the aim of getting a good career but for the excitement learning new areas can bring. It will be illogical to make it harder for them to find a place where they can study what they please.

To sum up, science and technology may be vital fields at present, but this should not mean that we have to force everyone to be an expert in them, other fields are quite important as well even if they are not considered at the moment to be comparable to technical studies. For this reason, variety should not be fought against no matter how desperate we need professionals in a special subject.