Some people think that being able to communicate with others online is breaking down geographical barriers and enabling people, who would normally never have the chance to meet, to communicate. What are the advantages of international communication online? Are there any disadvantages?

Some people have regarded the flair to interact with others on online platforms focal as it penetrates geographical demarcation and instigates conversations among international citizens. Although versatile, online communication also poses minuses and merits, whether latent or conspicuous.

On the one hand, there are pernicious drawbacks that make people concerned over the way the youth converse under the aegis of the Internet. The interpersonal skills of youngsters are detrimentally menaced since they center on using online networking sites, limiting face-to-face conversations as well as minimizing interactions with people in the vicinity of their neighborhood. This trend, therefore, aggravates relationships with relatives and family members. Some can gainsay that the Internet boosts children’s communication abilities; however, there is an egregiously striking contrast between online and reality with which teenagers should come to terms while they confine themselves in a sequestered space. Moreover, today, young adults are likely to run a higher risk of contracting health issues such as eye strain, myopia, and lack of agility, which boils down to getting exposed too much to computers and sitting fixated in one place for a long time. Should these problems not be resolved immediately, their constitutions are to worsen.

On the other hand, the ability to communicate with people from all around the world also yields salutary advantages regardless of the abovementioned risks. Firstly, it can be a unique form of tutelage. Adolescents can make inroads in honing their language skills exchanging information and discussing issues ranging from collective hazards facing the world to family affairs. Also, if they travel abroad, the chance of being provided with accommodations from their online friends is higher. Secondly, this approach helps them delve deeper into diverse cultures. That I used to talk with an Indonesian guy via Discord is a point in case. After a series of informative exchanges, I collated more data about one of the biggest peninsulas, not just the tip of the iceberg but also its zeitgeist and deep-rooted prejudices. And I believe that other users have the same experience as mine that will reinforce their knowledge.

To encapsulate, there are pros and cons of this predilection that people need to weigh up to make sure they know how to utilize online platforms right.