Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor bike To what extent do you agree or disagree

The number of car accidents has become more in recent times. Some individuals believe that increasing minimum legal age for driving a vehicle is the most effective measure to enhance road safety. I partially agree with this sentiment since I also would argue that regular driving exams and continuous education are also vitally important to decrease the number of accidents on road. This essay will explain them briefly.

On the one hand, road safety can be improved when minimum legal age is increased. As people grow, they generally become calm and cautious that are vitally important to have a safe journey. If young people begin driving automobiles at twenty-five years old rather than at eighteen years old, they will probably not drive fast above legal speed limits and behave irresponsible on road. Consequently, this improvement will obviously boost road safety.

On the other hand, regular driving exams and continuous education can be more effective in improving safety on roads. People can forget rules or rules may change during a time frame consequently laws can be broken consciously or unconsciously. Yet, if drivers are enforced taking regular examinations and participating in online driving courses, they will fresh their memory and learn any new legislation. For example, an article by New York Times Magazine in 2019 revealed that the number of car accidents was minimum in Manila where drivers need to take driving exam in every two years. It also stated that none of the people in Manila died due to car accident. Hence, providing and forcing citizens continuous education will clearly enhance road safety.

By way of conclusion, some commentators argue that increasing minimum legal age driving is the best solution to boost safety on roads. I agree with this sentiment to some extend. Yet, I also think that life-long driving education is essential part of improvement.