Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believed that by giving longer sentence to offenders could effectively reduce crime, in contrast, others think that it is actually counterproductive. And I tend to agree with the latter.

To a certain degree, server punishments like longer sentence could help to reduce crime rate. If the federal government rise the sentence term for trivial crimes, some potential offender may weigh their choices and choose to avoid commit a crime as the cost of crime has gone up. For example, a pocket picker have to think twice if the punishment become as serve as robbing and my change his career as the risk of being a thief is way out of control. That is to say, giving longer sentence could help to reduce trivial crime like pocket picking.

However, it is more reasonable to consider that punishment is not the key to eliminate crime, as the second view shows. In a real life situation, criminals may not take into the consequences of their action into consideration before they broke the law. For instance, it would not make much difference to bank robbers whether they are going to be jailed for 25 years or 30 years, their will to rob a bank is not dependent on the punishment because they normally choose to run away from justice. So, in this case, loner sentence cannot reduce crime whatsoever.

In my opinion, the impact of giving more server punishment is limited. At the meantime, more effective ways such as community services and provide better education for citizens probably are better method to eliminate crime from the origin.

To summarize, I tend to agree with the second view that bring longer sentence is not the best way to reduce crime, and there are definitely more effective ways to help the government to reduce crime rate.