Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentence. Others, however, think there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recent years have witnessed an increase in crime commissions, raising many questions of social soundness. Although the proposal of longer imprisonment sounds legitimate, many alternative measures could be taken with higher efficiency to reduce crime.

On the one hand, it should be acknowledged that giving longer prison sentence could reduce crime. Specifically, longer imprisonment is invariably associated with a longer time of undergoing harsh and insufficient conditions and heavy labour in prisons, eliminating any intent of recidivism. For instance, citizens charged with murder would never commit homicide as they will take long imprisonment along with solitary confinement, which is proved to culminate in many mental disorders into consideration.

On the other hand, official authorities should undertake more practical and effective initiatives to curb crime rates. First, the legislation of banning and censoring violent and X-rated contents on mainstream media should be enacted. It is implied that these materials could breed the future offenders in the future by reshaping their perceptions of moral codes, increasing delinquency rates followed by adult crimes in the future. Second, a higher degree of capital subsidies should be poured on an education sector to provide equal educational opportunities for every citizen irrespective of their socio-economic status. In fact, perpetrators of crime often lack working capacities stemming from not integrating into formal schooling and have to commit crimes such as drug smuggling and cyber-fraud to make ends meet.

In conclusion, despite the pronounced advantages pertaining to a longer prison sentence, it is not the best solution to reduce crime commissions. However, equal educational opportunities and negative content censorship on mainstream media would bestow more positive benefits in decreasing crime rates.