Some people think that Genetically modified (GM) crops are a positive development. Others, however, argue that they are potentially dangerous. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There have been many debates about the benefits and consequences of Genetically Modified food in recent years. Some people argue that this development brings humanity many advantages, however, others, including me, believe that it is accompanied with many potential dangers.

The advances in food technology are undeniable. The first point to note is the productivity will definitely increase. With the new technology, farmers can produce crops that grow bigger and faster without having to work too hard, which will also help them make more profit. In addition, foods can be modified to be more resistant to diseases and insects as well as longer expiration and more attractive looks, which will obviously make the products more inviting to customers.

On the other hand, genetically engineering foods also have a lot of negative impacts on our life. Nowadays, many people have distrusted food that have been modified or processed by technology. They tend to prefer organic foods which are grown without using any chemicals because they think that there may be risks involved in the GM food and they can lead to many long-term deleterious health problems for humans. Additionally, interrupting in growing crops by using fertilizers or pesticides is not friendly to the earth and these chemicals can change the whole ecosystem since they are released into the environment and deteriorate our living surroundings. Moreover, engineering foods can cause a fall in nutrition as they are made to look more perfect and attractive.

In conclusion, many people believe that GM foods were created for good purposes, however, I personally think that it also certain potential drawbacks which should not be underestimated.