Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children.

What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children are valuable assets of their parents and taking care of them is their parents’ prime objective. However, costs related to living are so great that both parents choose to do jobs. To tackle the living costs and provide better care to children, some people argue that government should pay one of the parents and urge them to stay at home to nurture their children.

The prime advantage of this approach would be that the child can enjoy their parent’s care and supervision while growing. If the government will pay the parent who is staying home then it will help them to run the living costs while looking after their child. In addition, any child learns by emulating their elders and if they are under the care of their mom or dad all day, they will learn more effectively. After all, the parent is a role model for their child and it is their ethical duty to teach their child, the basic life skills. For Instance, UK government pays families child care assistance in terms of money.

On the contrary, this can lead to a few problems. By keeping children at home for care, parents will not send them to the pre-schools. As a consequence, children will not develop the social skills because they will not be mixing up with the other children of their age from different backgrounds. Also, the government will have to bear extra costs and it can impact the country’s economy. For instance, the American government is planning to cut off their costs of paying money to parents for the care of their child, because the American economy is facing a decline.

In conclusion, although the advantages of this approach outweigh the disadvantages, governments should make considerable approaches to assess whether this scheme impacts their economy or not and according to that, decide to apply it.