Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The deterioration of air pollution is an alarming issue globally. While some people are of the opinion that a day when cars are prohibited is a workable measure to alleviate this contamination, I think larger – scale and long-term measures need to be taken to combat this problem.

On the one hand, there is a common belief that a car-free day can reduce air-pollution severity. Firstly, carbon dioxide emission from exhausted fumes may be significantly cut off, for cars are not allowed to be used on that day. This expectation stems from the success of Earth hour program that has been conducted for many years and made enormous contributions to the reduction of electricity consumption. Secondly, if people do not commute by car on that day, they have to resort to other means of transport such as walking, bus or subway, and therefore, the rewarding experiences help them be aware of the convenience and mobility of other commuting methods in comparison with cars. After that, these environmentally – friendly transportation can become their preferred choice.

On the other hand, I think this answer is not feasible and sustainable enough to address severe air contamination. Only applying car-free rules for one day decreases the greenhouse gas emissions very minimally. Instead, government should impose higher luxury taxes on cars like it has been implementing in many developing countries. Only after this policy is applied can fewer people afford cars, and consequently car density on roads fall with the decline of its emissions. Furthermore, other developed nations should invest in energy-efficient engines so that commuters can still benefit from the safety and comfort of cars and the quantity of pollutants in the atmosphere is controlled. For example, electric cars can be a feasible alternative for petroleum ones for eco-friendly purposes.

In conclusion, the program that encourage motorists to give up their cars for one day is a good idea to deal with air pollution, but government need to simultaneously take other measures such as car price increase and advancements of car engines.