Some people think it is importat to spend public money on promoting healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment for people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays most people are undoubtedly more aware of the importance a healthy lifestyle can have in avoiding disease and consequently in prolonging their lifespan. Nevertheless, some question whether public money should be used as a way of promoting healthy lifestyle so that the likelihood that the population might get ill to significantly decrease, or the sums of money should be allocated for people who are currently afflicted by disease.

On the one hand, especially the people living in remote or poor places, but also in other areas, can be prone to disease, which could be contagious. Furthermore, the majority of them do not generally have knowledge regarding how to maintain themselves healthy. It is fundamental for people not to neglect any symptom, even though they do not deem it severe and they expect it to get away soon. Consulting a doctor and taking the medicine he recommends is likely to help one feel better in a few days. The population also has to know that an adequate nutrition and a sporting life strengthen the organism.

On the other hand, life takes precedence over money, therefore it is people's duty to take care of their kin in times of need. Scientists have continuously conducted research into medicine since a long time ago. Consequenty, numerous methods of treating and combating disease have been discovered. Taking into account that technology has led to the creation and development of advanced medical equipment, medicine has never been in a better position asit is today, to allow doctors to save many lives.

To conclude although I believe that it is important to invest public money in endorsing healthy lifestyle, it would be unhuman and unfair not to treat the patients who were unfortunate and got ill. The budged should first and foremost ensure proper conditions and remedies for those who already suffer from disease.