Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believethat school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern world, learning to be a good member of society is a fundamental lesson that children should be taugh at a very young age. Some people see this crucial part is the parents’ duty while others discuss that it is actually a school’s task. Both sides of this debate will be analysed before drawing a conclusion.

First of all, parents play a big role in fostering a child. On the first years of childhood, children learn mostly by mimicing their parents’ actions and behaviors. Thus, parents can set a good example for their kids and guide them to do the good things. For example, if the parents tell their children to give food & gifts to poor people, the kids will get to learn about generosity – one of the key characteristics of a good member of society.

On the other hand, school is believed to be the place for children to gain knowledge and learn how to be a good person. School makes rules for students to follow, thus shaping them up as a model citizen. For instance, every schools in Vietnam require students to be on time, if not they will be fined. By obeying that rule, children will voluntarily learn about punctuality. Furthermore, subjects taught at school and lessons learnt from the textbooks could raise awareness among the students and give them an idea of good and bad behaviors.

In conclusion, it’s best for a child to learn of good deeds both in school and at home. However, in my opinon, parents should take a bigger role as they can take care of their children more closely and it is also their main responsibilities.