Some people think that school should reward students who show the best academic results while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements Discuss both views and give your own opinion

A considerable number of people suppose that schools should applaud students achieving the highest results in learning and examinations. Meanwhile, others claim that it is better to emphasize more on extolling students who tried hard and can express enhancements in studying. Despite the fact that 2 opinions have particular explanations, I would agree with the second one.

On the one hand, it is believed that rewarding students who have the best academic performances will bolster a strong sense of competition among students. According to this belief, when a group of students is praised for getting high marks in the exams or having a perfect GPA in the final semester, other students will look up to them and consider these results to be their goal as well as inspiration. As a result, more and more students will spend more time and effort studying to not fall behind and finally outdo their peers. For example, most Vietnamese educational institutions select the best students with the highest final GPA to reward with money or valuable presents, in this way, the number of hard-working students increases from generation to generation.

On the other hand, schools had better praise students who show improvements in the studying process for certain reasons. Firstly, hard work and improvements usually are missed in hustle and bustle of life, therefore, when students are recognized for getting a higher level compared to the previous one, they will be extremely grateful for their efforts and continue trying. In other words, this kind of reward benefits students more in the long run with regard to the fact that high marks can generate vanity, gradually, students might overrate themselves and fall behind. Besides, applauding students’ enhancements tends to put less pressure on others’ shoulders. Consequently, fewer students commit suicide as they do in such competitive education environments in Japan.

In conclusion, although rewarding students who achieve greater academic performance could be a source of motivation, I would approve with the viewpoint that improvements bring students more long-term benefits due to the aforementioned discussion.