Some people think that university students should only study one special subject. Others

think that universities should encourage students to study a range of subjects in addition to a

special area. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recent decades have witnessed an increase in the number of tertiary students studying various subjects in addition to their specialized subject, raising many questions about the practical application. Although the advantages associated with this pattern could be pronounced, concentrating on one special subject bestows more benefits.

On the one hand, it should be acknowledged that studying on various subjects could lead to positive consequences. Learning different subjects means more working skills for different job specifications, eliminating the possibilities of limited employment options. In fact, students majoring in computer program development in post-secondary institutions have a penchant for studying foreign languages, which promotes their employment prospects with many opportunities of promising jobs with high remuneration and benefits in kind in multinational corporations.

On the other hand, it is highly recommended that post-secondary students focus on one specialized discipline. This is invariably associated with a higher degree of concentration of this subject, developing necessary skills for fueling academic attainments in that subject. For example, an English-specialized student could freely acquire practical skills such as listening and pronunciation ones based on the personal preferences to facilitate the language proficiency and flexibility. Therefore it would act as an incentive for their career progression when involved in a specific profession related to English.

In conclusion, Focusing on only one major subject could culminate in many desirable impacts especially in climbing their promotion ladder in the future. Additionally, post-secondary institutions should reduce the content of the curriculum to release the studying burdens for students to enhance their concentration level on the specialized subject.