Success in formal "pen and paper" examinations is often seen to be a sign of intelligence.

To what extent do you agree with the view that formal examinations measure intelligence?

It is clear that education has played a crucial role in student's cognitive development. Schools also apply many strategies for learners to improve their skills and enhance their knowledge. Some hold the view that formal "pen and paper" examinations succeed in measuring students' intelligence. This following essay will give some reasons to discuss this view.

First of all, the measurement of intelligence can be based on paper exams. This is because people who do well in exams often perform well in other types of tasks such as researches or assignments. Additionally, paper tests usually include a range of standards to evaluate different abilities. For example, students who are good at negotiation and critical thinking can handle well with logical exercises in paper exams. However, other opponents argue that pen and paper tests are often predictable. Specifically, learners are likely to prepare by rote learning. As a result, this kind of exams cannot ensure the smart level of each student whether it is accurate or not.

On the other hand, there are probably various types of intelligence - there can be measured in different ways. Students who express themselves much better verbally than in writing. In other words, people who may not have a good performance in paper tests can reach achievement in other fields such as architecture, technology, fashion, and many more. Nevertheless, pen and paper exams can still assess certain kinds of knowledge of learners at schools. This can be explained that schools and teachers may give insight into students' knowledge which can help them to understand how much information students absorbed in class. Therefore, the education system can use various approaches to make an evaluation of intelligence.

To sum up, pen and paper examinations are still regarded as a proper way to measure intelligence. Alternatively, there should be more studies to examine other forms of exams which enable students to completely display their abilities.