Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professionals. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is not uncommon these days that top athletes are paid huge salaries that are higher than other essential occupations in the society, and they can live in well-built houses and possess fancy cars. Some people question about the fairness of their high salaries while others see the justification of it. This essay will discuss both sides of the views, followed by my opinion.

On the one hand, it is fair that successful sportsmen are well paid. Firstly, they have huge public influence. This is because they are exposed to the mass media more frequently especially in significant sport events, making it easy for them to attract public attention. Therefore, if they were invited to participate in commercial advertising or public activities, there would be considerable effects, whether generating financial benefits for companies or raising public awareness on certain issues such as wildlife protection or cancer prevention. Meanwhile, athletes pay extraordinary efforts in trainings and their career is short, risky under heavy pressure. Unlike ordinary jobs such like teachers or lawyers, sport players are tested each time they perform in sport events and it is the high possibility of getting injured that makes their career short and risky. Even if not injured, a number of athletes may suffer from chronic diseases such as spine ailments. These factors all justify that they deserve such an amount of rewards.

On the other hand, the income gap between top sport players and other significant professions cannot be justified if comparing the contributions they make to the society. For example, teachers play a vital role in providing competent people for the society through education, and without doctors’ hard work there would not be millions of lives being saved. Those and other many important professions are equally essential to the society while are often not paid as much as high-achieved sportsmen.

Personally, I think that successful sports players deserve the amount of salaries they are paid regarding their public influence, their phenomenal commitments and the characteristics of their career, while this does not mean they are more important than other professions such as teachers and doctors. It indicates that our society places more value on sport than its counterparts.