There is a belief that supermarkets and manufacturers have a duty to reduce the packaging of products they sell. Others argue that consumers must avoid buying products with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views of this argument by giving specific examples and reasons.

How packing is treated has been a problem that arouses public attention over the past few decades. While it is reckoned by many residents that enterprises should consciously decrease their use in production, others opine that is it themselves who need eliminate such merchandise.

On the one hand, reducing packaging is recognized as a responsibility for brands thanks to its positive financial impact on their budget. Indeed, the less materials used for wrapping their goods, the more likely companies are to contract their overhead cost. For example, a study conducted at Walmart revealed that when their products were covered with carton boxes only instead of incorporating with multiple nylon layers, the supermarket chain could save up to 20% expenditure for packaging, enabling them to maximize their profit. In fact, there has been an argument that using such massive amount of wrapping is inevitable because many types of merchandise are fragile and have to undergo a long delivery. However, a huge amount of other products are aimed at in-store purchase, so similar treatment to them can be seen as a financially unwise policy, which can unnecessarily gain the expense incurred.

On the other hand, there are also many reasons for which consumers should be aware of whether to buy packaging-overloaded products or not. From an environment perspective, avoiding such goods is viewed as a favorable practice. Indeed, the majority of packing is originated from wood, plastic or nylon and mostly discarded after unpacked, so purchasing merchandise with various wrapping layers not only results in an excessive load of non-biodegradable waste, but also increase the coppice woodland harvested, which are all against the objective of green movements. Secondly, from a business perspective, as an obvious rule, only when a product meets customer’s demands will companies maintain it manufacture. Therefore, if buyers express unfavorable attitudes towards over-packaged products, this will prompt a new awareness among producers and encourage them to switch to more eco-friendly approaches.

In conclusion, although declining use of packaging is attributed to supply chain, it is also understandable when consumers shoulder this responsibility.