These days, people work more than one job, and often change career several times during their life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent years, the number of people taking up various occupation during their lifetime has been on the upward trend. Although this trend is currently encouraged by positive judgements thanks to its benefits towards workers, its drawbacks should be taken into account.

On the one hand, changing fields of work provides the employees with thorough insights into their potentials. By researching strengths and weaknesses via different working areas, each person can make their own decisions in their career path. In reality, many CEOs around the world took up many sorts of work such as tour guides, waiters, and secretaries before starting their own business. It can be explained that the process of changing careers build human comprehensive skill sets, which later helps them to navigate and develop themselves. Otherwise, many people seem to stick to a sedentary jobs for the whole life without passion and efforts.

On the other hand, changing career is not without downsides since it charges workers the opportunity costs to achieve their goals. First, achievement is traded off by time and efforts, This means that when switching work, people lose time and promotion for their current positions. Second, starting something from scratch like changing working fields often goes along with risks.In reality , challenges coming from failure and rejection often act as a deterrent for people to make decision on occupation changing.

In conclusion, despite the opportunity costs including risks that switching career paths may bring, the precious skillsets and insights gained through this process appear to be meaningful in human life achievement. By acknowledging this feature, taking up many occupation should be voted as a positive breakthrough in human life.