Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Agree

Advertisements play an important role in sales of different products. A product worth is multiplied not just because of its need but the way it is advertised, adds to its demand.

Advertisement industry is now worth billions worldwide. It has spread because of the shear hard work in observing the social trends and studying micro economics. For instance, the target consumer is followed for months in order to find out how a product should be displayed on billboards, tv ads etc.

Revenues are not the only end product of many advertisements. They give consumers a variety of a specific product. Sometimes there's a social message at the end tv ads. for example now a days they tell people not waste food.

On one hand advertising agencies are helpful and healthy. But sometimes they are also manipulating their consumers into buying products they don't need. For example, if a watch is showed off by a famous celebrity for a few seconds, some people get an urge to buy that exact watch. They don't realize if they really need it. Most of the times they end up buying it only because a famous person is endorsing it. The celebrity himself will never wear it in real life.

In conclusion i partly agree with the question, demand and actual need of the product has to be there in order to sell an item. Some of the products are sold because of better advertisement but these type of examples are less.