Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, advertising plays a significant and considerable role in people encouragement to buy the products. The domination of these activities is not restricted to specific goods, and if encompasses all types of urgent or unnecessary needs of human lives. It is totally agreed that the promotions entice people to purchase some goods in which they do not the real need. This will be shown by looking at two mains facets of this process.

Firstly, one of the most prominent purposes of advertisements is attracting the consumers' attentions towards goods that are not necessary. The reason of this claim will be inferred from the huge amount of money in which companies pay in a financial year. Financial reports of a pioneer kitchen appliances company in Iran, Pars Khazar Co., reveal this issue that managers spend more than half of their profits for all types of their promotions. The content of these advertisements was about some appliances like dicer, mixer and so on which are not absolutely required in a house. Thus, this example illustrates the link between effects of promotions on consumer behavior for buying unnecessary goods.

In addition to this, commercial advertisements by virtue of over-embellishing of the positive feature or properties of products, have a lot of attempt to exciting viewer or audiences. A good example for this subject is a promotion of slim products like fat burners drugs. Not only physicians but also all people know this fact that these drugs are not essential for losing weight. Therefore, it is unmistakably obvious that how promotions affect on consumers for buying products that are not inevitable.

I can be drawn a conclusion from the above passage that the advertisement industry has a key role in the marketing of some products. It is recommended that people before buying a product, pay enough attention to their needs and the reality of claims in which are made by producers.