Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of thesociety in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the world developed, daily merchandises have become an essential needs of every household. The FMCG is considered to be a super-profit industry in which hundreds of firms with thousands of products compete to each other to gain the market. Statistically, every seconds millions of consuming products are sold. To some extent I agree with the statement that, “the fascinated sales of those consuming products illustrate the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which people bought them”.

To begin with, let’s take an example of a FMCG that succeeded in advertisement: Heineken brewery, for instance. It is undeniable that each of the Heineken TVC are indeedly attractive. Most of the advertising campaigns inspire the human nature of gathering and sharing the enjoyment with close relations, and the enjoyment is obviously Heineken beer. With this kind advertisement, the sales of Heineken is remarkable.

On the other hand, Heineken themselves must have put tremendous efforts for the quality of their products. No matter how excellent the marketing is, if the product is not qualified, customers would rapidly choose another brands which have competitive advertising power. Advertisement attract customers, but the quality is the ultimate reason for those to be come loyalties.

From these perspectives, we should conclude that the power of advertising is enormous in boosting the sales of consuming goods. However, it the products itself to satisfy customers’ needs in order to let these sales sustainable.