Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there is a rising number of youngsters spending more time on computer games, therefore they are prone to do less sport. This tendency can be attributed to two possible reasons and I believe it has a handful of side effects on children’s mental and physical health.

Perhaps the first cause to this trend is that parents have a hectic work schedule to earn their livings as well as they find sports potentially have some risks for their kids. Therefore, they believe that locking children inside and letting them playing computer games is the proper way to protect their offsprings. Secondly, games are becoming more addictive and various for different ages and genders because game developers have learned and adapted to a greater demand of players. Moreover, games lead children to a fantasy world where kids are likely to be fulfilled their desire and imagination.

However, playing too much computer games have many visible side effects to children both mentally and physically. nearsightedness is a foreseen phenomenon which gamers have when they spend too much time on gluing their eyes to the screen. In addition, some games contain a variety of fight scenes and violence; this make the players gradually become more aggressive in the real life. What is more, sitting at one place for a long time leads the kids to a sedentary lifestyle and causes obesity. As the result, children are lazier to do physical exercise.

In conclusion, some reasons have been addressed to the tendency; and due to the lack of physical activities and time consumption on computer games, children nowadays face a great deal of negative impacts on their health.