Too much money is spent on maintaining and repairing old buildings Some people think that they should be knocked down to give way to modern buildings To what extent do you agree or disagree

Technology and Design of construction are developed and changed extremely fast. Many people have changed their buildings to modern styles, yet there are some people who still maintain and repair their old buildings. In my opinion, I think that we should conserve these old buildings for two reasons: history and attraction.

Old buildings should be kept to show the changes in history. We can use these buildings to teach children about the history of people in those areas in that the buildings illustrate many things happening in the past such as innovations, technologies, lifestyles, and so on. The children can learn how people live and what is the differences between the past and the present from these remaining constructions. For example, when we go to a historical place, we will see a lot of things which are different from today such as pots and tools. We cannot know how people at that time live without high technologies if we do not have anything to investigate. Therefore, children in the next generation will not understand their ancestors unless we conserve these old buildings.

Another reason we should maintain these buildings is that we can use them as attraction places for tourists. Modern constructions are built in every part of the world, so they are not enough interesting to attract foreign people to go to those areas. However, the old buildings in any country are usually distinct from other countries; consequently, if foreigners want to study the history of the countries or meet new experiences, they have to get to these places for learning. Many museums in the US, for instance, are the houses of rich people in the mid-19th century. Although they are just a house, people are willing to pay to get inside these buildings to see the beauty of architecture in that period.

In conclusion, there are plenty of advantages to spending money maintaining and repairing old buildings rather than change them to modern forms. Not only can they be the places for the learning of children, but they also can attract foreign people to the areas. If we do not change everything to modern styles, those will be benefits for local people in some ways.