Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

It is undeniably true that men and women have distinct physical and mental characteristics and those features make them appropriate for certain occupations. However, I believe that it is wrong to consider gender as a must-have criterion when recruit employees.

On the one hand, many people allege that males or females should only work in professions that related to the accredited traits of their gender. They argue that men and women have different personalities and only when they choose the jobs suitable for their gender, can they develop and demonstrate all their strengths. While men are said to be rational, strong, determined and likely to join in technical, engineering or business field, women tend to be vulnerable, emotional, benevolent and had better do social work.

However, I believe that it would be unacceptable to preclude anyone from certain professions owing to their gender. It is a fundamental right of human that they can pursue their dream career regardless of their sex. People’s potential aptitude for everything is unlimited; therefore, they are capable of doing jobs that often supposed to be suitable for only male or female and contributing effectively in different aspects to their work. For example, women are the ones who usually do the cooking at home but in reality, the number of famous and respectable male chefs outweighs that of female cooks. Moreover, gender requirement for employment is a means of gender discrimination and dream destruction. That could lead to a major disappointment and hopelessness for qualified people who are rejected just because of their gender.

In conclusion, it seems to me that employees should not discriminate in favour of male or female candidates and make decisions based on job-related skills.