Writing task 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic:

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in theworkplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

While some people believe that universities should provide subjects regardless of student's future job, others argue that universities should supply students with the knowledge and necessary skill in the workplace. In my point of view, the major role of a university should provide information that helps for students' career after graduation.

On the one hand, practical knowledge should be prepared by universities, which helps students get necessary skills for their work future. First, universities should teach particular subjects that involved directly to student's future job. For example, a student who wants to be a nurse registers courses which help her know how to take care of patients or provides service about health education for an individual, family and so on. Furthermore, besides providing raw academic material, universities should organize some activities such as career activities, vocation-oriented seminars, etc. As a result, students can become a potential employee with excellent teamwork and fluent communication skill. These can help the company improve the performance of the company as well as achieve their goal.

On the other hand, giving access to knowledge for its sake is same as learning by yourself. Firstly, universities provide subjects that are not necessary and useless for students' future job. This makes waste time for students. Therefore, students can consider whether they should attend class or not. Secondly, with this function, students just study theory without practice. As a result, the possibility of unemployment would be inevitable because graduated students meet their real demands.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that education plays an integral part in students' future job. Therefore, the university should give students useful knowledge and skills so that students can use them in the actual working world.