You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

Learning about the food, the science behind it, and the various way to make it edible is a great concern. Some people believe these are important skills and hence children should study about these, while others are in favor of putting more concentration on their other subjects. I believe in the latter notion as children will eventually learn about the foods with time as they will grow.

Knowledge about food, its ingredients, preparation, and the science behind every food is very unique. This is why it is really important for children to learn about these from early childhood. After all, it is the right choice and knowledge of our diet which keep us healthy and sound. For example, a child who knows how useful fresh fruits and vegetables are for us from childhood will always prefer to have these as snacks or lunch and dinner menu. Therefore, proponents of this side think pupils should expand their learning about food and food science through the school curriculum.

However, there are some other essential specialties of life which are already taught by the school curriculum. the main reason behind incorporating these subjects is to provide them with basic as well as advanced knowledge. To illustrate, a traditional school syllabus always teach mathematics to students through which children can learn the analytical ability, logical thinking, and reasoning. Like math, every subject taught by the school has practical implications later in their adult life. Moreover, studying such important subject matter from childhood leads them to a definite career path which has a profound effect on getting a good job. This is why it is imperative for children to study these subjects in school.

In conclusion, although people have different opinions on whether or not a child should study food or food science, or other fundamental topics in school, I believe in the second notion. There are tremendous benefits of studying these subjects as this will ultimately secure their future by selecting the career.