You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

You should write at least 254 words.

The length of people's life is increased due to modern science and lifestyle. So, many corporations are contemplating if they should raise the retiring age of the employees as well. As I am against the mentioned idea, the essay will describe the reasons behind it.

Firstly, if we consider the said notion, the unemployment rate will increase. The modern medicine has not only updated the life expectancy of human beings but also has lowered the rate of infant mortality. This means the number of young people has increased as well as the number of old people. Now, the longer the old generation remains employed, the young generation would have to remain unemployed, unless, they become self-employed or new businesses emerges.

Secondly, the older the employees are, the less efficient they become. The people in their sixties do not have the capability to learn to use modern technologies. Moreover, people become more prone to sicknesses as the become older. Working while sitting or standing for too long may cause bone diseases in them. They also can not handle the work stress like they use to anymore. These drawbacks sufficiently limits their work efficiency.

Finally, most workers have given their youth to the organisations they work for. They deserve rest and quite time so that they can catch up with the world in their own pace without the pressure of working.

To conclude, instead of raising the retiring age, the corporations should lower it in order to give chance to the young generations.