You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

Sporting events are organized by different nations of the world for the past few decades. Although many people believe that the chance of hosting such programs is beneficial for their country, others stand on for opposite view. In my opinion, I consider, while arranging such events can have some challenges of its own, the overall effects of becoming a host are way more.

On the one hand, hosting international sports events have some challenges for any nation of the world. First of all, they may need a decent place with a considerable size of playground for the sports along with surrounding hotels and restaurants for the foreign visitors which they may not have ready. Therefore, to keep the venue all ready, there may be replacements or demolition of existing infrastructures. Additionally, the country has to decorate and spend more money to maintain and keep well organised the place. Some countries even do not play that specific sport. Hence, along with the cost, they may not find any interest in the event. For these reasons, some people think that these sports events are bad both for their culture and country.

On the other hand, organizing such international sporting events can have many positive effects for the hosting country and I agree with this side of thought. This is because as these types of events occur all around the world, it gives the hosting country the opportunity to represent its culture. It gives a sense of recognition to the organizer to the rest of the world. Moreover, the cost of maintenance mostly comes from different famous sponsoring companies all over the world, and this way it is not such a financial burden of the native country. Last but not the least, the huge amount of visitors spend lots of money on entry fees, hotels, and tourism of the country which also can be a great of generating revenue.

In conclusion, although people may have a different perspective on organizing international sports events in their homeland. I believe they are beneficial for any country who decides to arrange them as the rest of the world know about their heritage and also it can act as a source of income.