You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Crime rates tend to be higher in cities than in smaller towns. Explain some possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Our cities are overcrowded with people from different backgrounds and provide an opportunity for people with all intentions. One of the impacts of high population in cities can be seen in the rates of crimes. In my view, we can safely state that the high costs of living and the lack of proper law and order in the cities are the main causes of crimes in the big towns.

First of all, villages are small and very few people live there these days. The daily requirement of material things in the countryside is also very low. The costs of living such as rent, costs of transportation are much less in village than in cities. I think this explains why fewer crimes are committed in the villages.

On the other hand, people settle down in cities with a lot of hopes and ambitions. They have to struggle daily to meet the basic needs of their families. This means that there will be high financial burden on the people. To meet such challenges, people resort to financial crimes, for instance, corruption, bribery, theft, and robbery in villages. To solve such problems, government needs to enhance the police administration, install cameras on the streets and with the offices. Such measures are likely to help to reduce these crimes to certain extent.

Another reason of people mainly youth committing crime is lack of moral principle due to the reason that they are far from their parents and families. Many youths come to city and live alone. They are likely to meet some anti-social elements such as drug dealers, and smugglers. Young minds are likely to be attracted to such crimes to quickly be rich and powerful. This problem can be solved by constant moral counseling.

To sum up, the pressure of cost of living, and tendency to be affluent in short time induces people to commit crimes in cities and the solutions to tackle them could be the strengthening of law and order situation.