You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people think that history as a subject at school is not useful and should be replaced with a more practical subject. Why do you think it is important to learn about history? What would be the effect if children were not taught history?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Across the world, there is no dearth of people who consider that teaching history at educational institution is unproductive and is a waste of resources. The people who advocate such ideas are of the opinion that schools and colleges should impart education on such subjects which have more practical use. Nevertheless, my opinion on the subject is that we must teach history to our children. Therefore, we cannot do away with this subject.

First of all, history helps us to find our roots and connects us with our past which will be very helpful to young learners to shape their views of the modern world. If history is not taught in our schools and universities, people will not get any opportunity to view the contemporary world with the help of past events. In some cases, not teaching history can actually lead to a situation where students fail to fully comprehend the happenings around them. For example, why a country needs a strong army could possibly be best explained on the basis of historical facts and figures. Therefore, study of historical events is very significant from the viewpoint of understanding modern world.

In addition to it, if history subject is replaced with another course, students may be burdened with unnecessary knowledge in another subject. The likely consequences of it could range from lack of interests among students to defective education systems. When students who have not studied history go to work in international forums, they may face several challenges. For example, without learning world history, no one can be expected to be able to work smoothly in the UN.

To sum up, modern schools should not think of removing history subject from their curriculum. Any such move is likely to have unintended consequences such as lack of interests among students in their course of study.