19.09.2017

Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some aver that universities ought to accept as many men as women in every subject. Although, this proposal seems to be appealing at the first glance, I disagree with this prospect and below the reasons on which my stance based will be discussed in details.

On the one hand, implementation of the policy seems to have many advantages. Firstly, it is aimed to fight inequality between genders. In fact, statistically some subjects are more preferred by males than females and many assume that it is the result of biased attitude of university administration toward students. If the proposal is fulfilled, personal preferences and prejudices of educators will not impact the decision about accepting or dismissing a future student. Secondly, if the proposal is passed, this fact will undoubtedly encourage, for instance, young women to try to enroll in subjects and courses that are traditionally deemed as men’s ones. In other words, at least theoretically, the discussed act could positively affect situation with inequality in tertiary institutions.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages as well. Primarily, this idea could be perceived as unfair by some individuals because academic performance of enrolling students is partly neglected. Likelihood exists that, for instance, instead of a man who has an average 3.9 a young woman with average 3.3 may be accepted in a course because all seats devoted to males have been already taken. Furthermore, this situation would likely lead to difficulties in education process due to listeners who were chosen with respect to their gender would probably have a different level of preparation and background knowledge. Thus, mechanical imposing of quotes could undermine public belief in fairness of the policy and even have a converse influence on listeners’ studying.

To sum up, the idea of imposing quotes promises to bring desirable alterations but its fulfillment in its current reading will cause increasing discontent among students as well as other drawbacks. Thus, it is safe to claim that shortages outweigh plausible benefits.